Brighton Bound!!!!!!!

After one of the hardest weeks i have had, and going out on the lash with work celebrating some really fantastic news, I went at it hammer and tong and truly felt rough the following morning. With that said I managed to man up and crack on with some work and crash out a load of outdoor campaigns for one of the new companies Hogarth has been working in conjuction with.

With this new work comes a fear that I will never be able to get any of my personal ideas and designs further. However After a nice relaxing day with a fryup and beers on the beach watchin breakdancing and the seagulls mollest innocent parties, I got to catch up with a good friend of mine and up and coming musical Talent and one of the most inspiring people i have ever met www.skyrmish.com, Gives me the drive to push things forwards!, after all if your not winning your only losing! Discussing current ideas and theories and aspirations give me the drive to carry on trying to win!

Also Have got another book to my ever growing collection, called “A technique for producing ideas” written my the amazing James webb Young back in the 1940’s yet it is still as relevant now as it was back then with forwords from William Bernbach the “B” in the creative advertising agency “DDB” and the chairman of DDB Keith Reinhard. Its a very short pocket book but has a very simple aim, How to develop creative ideas. It has given me insight and direction into philosophy and what kind of people are creatives and or Idea people and who isn’t. Only half way through so i’ll let you know what my full opinions on the book is, and maybe it might even give me some ideas on how to produce ideas for my designs. Something i heard from a friend today was a neat way of giving myself briefs to work with or projects to work on was to find something that i really liked and try and improve on it. for instance a piece of short animation was the project in discussion and the sound design was not up to scratch, so why not improve upon in and use that as a starting point. Something I personally had not thought of doing, I guess because the thought of rebranding Hoover or coming up with an idea for a new Mazda campaign is just too overwhelming for me to even make a start on it, Hence probably why i am doing so much peripheral reading to try and gain inspiration and confidence to tackle daunting projects and briefs!

Tomorrow brings a new day and going to see what My friend has produced for his end of year show and gain perspective of what is out there and where I need to be at. Anyways, off to relax and watch my girlfriend sing and play piano tonight, I’ll be back for more pointlessness soon….When i have somethign more to talk about!.

Leave a Reply

